2018 Hockeyroos Squad Announced

Hockey (Women) | Published: Thu 7 December 2017

Hockey Australia have announced their 25-person 2018 National Senior Women's Squad in preparation for a huge 2018 for the Hockeyroos.

The squad includes two WA hockey athletes in Kathryn Slattery and recent Hockeyroos debutant, Georgia Wilson.

A number of factors were considered in the selection of the squad as Hockey Australia look to achieve optimum performance in a number of campaigns across 2018.
Impressive performances across the 2017 season along with the display of potential within the daily training and competition environment were also considered.
Hockeyroos Head Coach, Paul Gaudoin said, "The squad we've selected is one that we think can help us achieve our performance benchmarks in 2018 but it's also a squad that can develop to achieve podium performance in Tokyo."
First up on the list in 2018, the Hockeyroos will play a five game test series against Spain in Perth.
This will be followed by the 2018 Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast and the 2018 World Cup in London, all playing a role in the lead up to the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo, Japan.
In addition to the 2018 National Senior Women's Squad, Hockey Australia have also announced the National Women's Development Squad for 2018 featuring Western Australians; Karri Sommerville, Penny Squibb and Aleisha Power.
Upon announcement of the Development Squad, Gaudoin said "We've selected people who we think will help us develop a group that can win a medal in Tokyo."
"We want to make sure the Development Squad is about preparing people to be able to play for Australia." 
Having debuted for Australia in last month's test series against Japan in Adelaide, Aleisha Power will be working hard, looking to push for selection in the Senior Women's Squad again as the opportunity arises.
The 2018 National Senior Women's Squad currently consists of 25-members with the potential to increase to 27 following the Hockeyroos' test against Spain in January.