State's Top Talent up for WA Sports Star of the Year Award

Other | Published: Thu 7 February 2019

WA’s best and brightest sporting talent will be up for recognition at tonight’s WA Sports Star Awards.


The function which will be held at Perth Stadium will award gongs to the cream of the crop across the 2018 year with a stellar selection of 12 athletes in contention for the top prize.


That group includes a wide range of WAIS sport program athletes and features five nominees from last year’s WAIS Athlete of the Year field.


Matt Wearn (sailing), Aaron Younger (water polo), Aran Zalewski (hockey), Courtney Bruce (netball) and Cameron Meyer (cycling) are all finalists tonight, where they will also be joined by WAIS graduates Madison de Rozario (athletics) and Josh Hicks (rowing).




The shortlist also includes reigning WA Sports Star of the Year Sam Kerr, who herself held a scholarship with WAIS in her teens when the Institute offered a Women’s Football program.


WAIS talent will also be well represented across the Junior Sports Star of the Year field where a shortlist of six athletes have earned nomination across five sports.


Four of the nominees hold scholarship with WAIS, with world champion Zac Littlewood (sailing) joined by Commonwealth Games medallist Rhiannon Clarke (athletics), Nikita Hains (diving) and Ben Popham (swimming).