Extended Australian Squads Named in Advance of Intercontinental Cup in Perth

Water Polo | Published: Thu 14 March 2019

The extended Australian squads for the FINA Intercontinental Cup in Perth have been announced with both men’s and women’s lists boasting WA talent.


Perth will host the international event from March 26-31 with the tournament the final gateway for qualification for the World League Super Final which will follow in early June.


The Australian Sharks will potentially have three WA athletes in their ranks with brothers George and Andrew Ford named in the extended squad along with Tim Putt.


The Australian Stingers set up currently has four West Aussies in the mix, with Olympian Zoe Arancini headlining the inclusions with Jessica Zimmerman named in addition to goal keepers Lilian Hedges and Tess Hosking.



Both squads include WA born, interstate based talent, with Christian Kyriakou (currently with Sydney Uni Lions) and Genevieve Longman (currently with UTS Balmain Tigers) also named in extended teams.


Australia will be joined in action at HBF Stadium by USA, New Zealand, Japan, China, Kazakhstan, Brazil, South Africa and Canada.


It commences what will be a busy international season of water polo with the 2019 calendar also boasting a FINA World Championships, which will be held in South Korea next July.


Tickets for the FINA Intercontinental Cup are on sale now and are available via the following link.