WA Paddlers Earn Selection for 2019 Australian Representative Teams

Canoe|Kayak - Sprint | Published: Mon 18 March 2019

Western Australia will field representatives across all age groups in the 2019 international season after Paddle Australia confirmed their touring squads late last week.


Jaime Roberts has been confirmed in the senior World Cup squad, Yale Steinepreis (as previously reported) will tackle the U23’s whilst there is also a debut for 18 year-old Yasemin Ray in the Junior national team after her impressive performances at the Sprint Canoe Championships in Perth earlier this month.


Roberts’ selection will put her in the box seat to sew-up a selection place for the World Championships later in the year, but the national women’s K4 500m team’s broader focus will be on securing the country a quota spot for next year’s Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.



The Australian World Cup squad will compete in Poland and Germany with World Cup 1 commencing in Poznan from May 24 before World Cup 2 follows in Duisburg from May 31.


Selection for the 2019 senior World Championships team will be framed by performances over the course of the World Cup season with Paddle Australia set to announce its squad closer to the titles which will be held in Szeged, Hungary from August 21-25.


Yale Steinepreis (in WAIS top) will compete for Australia in the U23 World Championships in Romania 

Steinepreis and Ray however, will form part of the same touring World Championships team, with the ICF moving to host a combined Junior and U23 World Titles some years ago.


This year’s event will be held in Pitesti, Romania from August 1-4.


Australia’s representative teams for 2019 can be viewed below:


Jackson Collins (QLD)
Riley Fitzsimmons (NSW | NSWIS | Avoca)
Matt Goble (SA | SASI | West Lakes Canoe Club)
Tom Green (QLD | QAS | Varsity Lakes)
Joel McKitterick (QLD | QAS | Currumbin Creek)
Murray Stewart (NSW | NSWIS | PaddleNSW Direct)
Lachlan Tame (NSW | NSWIS | Avoca)
Jean Van der Westhuyzen (QLD | QAS | Varsity Lakes)
Jordan Wood (QLD | QAS | Gold Coast)

Ella Beere (NSW | NSWIS | Avoca)
Jo Brigden-Jones (NSW | NSWIS | Sydney Northern Beaches)
Alyssa Bull (QLD | QAS | Sunshine Coast)
Josephine Bulmer (SA | SASI | West Lakes)
Alyce Burnett (QLD | QAS | Sunshine Coast)
Cat McArthur (SA | SASI |Onkaparinga)
Jaime Roberts (WA | WAIS | Indian Ocean)
Bernadette Wallace (QLD | SASI | Currumbin Creek)

Jackson Collins (QLD)
Riley Fitzsimmons (NSW | NSWIS | Avoca)
Tom Green (QLD | QAS | Varsity Lakes)
Ethan Neville (NSW | NSWIS | Salty Paddlers)
Jean Van Der Westhuyzen (QLD | QAS | Varsity Lakes)


Ella Beere (NSW | NSWIS | Avoca)
Josephine Bulmer (Canoe) (SA | SASI | West Lakes)
Kailey Harlen* (NSW | NSWIS | Sydney Northern Beaches)
Lucinda Kelly (QLD | QAS | Kawana Waters)
Brianna Massie (QLD | QAS | Kawana Waters)
Jemma Smith (NSW | NSWIS | Avoca)
Yale Steinepreis (WA | WAIS | Bayswater)

Jesse Kneebone Ellis (SA | SASI | West Lakes)
Tinus Koekemoer (NSW | NSWIS | Sydney Northern Beaches)
Daniel Kucharski (SA | SASI | West Lakes)


Yasemin Ray has qualified for her first representative Australian team 

Alicia Fay (QLD | QAS | Kawana Waters)
Kailey Harlen* (NSW | NSWIS | Sydney Northern Beaches)
Yasemin Ray (WA | WAIS | Bayswater)
Ashlee Schoene (SA | West Lakes)
Charli Smyth (SA | West Lakes)
Caitlin Webber (SA | West Lakes)


*Qualified for U23 and Junior Team (only eligible in one age category)