Flynn Added to National Development Squad

Hockey | Published: Fri 12 April 2019

WA hockey talent Liam Flynn has earned elevation to Hockey Australia’s Men’s National Development Squad for 2019.


The Stirling resident, who will celebrate his 22nd birthday at the end of the month was one of five new names added to the original squad, with Tasmania’s Hayden Beltz, NSW’s Hayden Dillon, Victoria’s Nathan Ephraums and Queensland’s Blake Wotherspoon joining Flynn in elevation from the 2018 Under-21 National Junior Squad.


Flynn joins fellow West Australian Frazer Gerrard in the development set-up, with the pair forming part of a 17-strong squad.


The Hale Hockey Club member has shown solid improvement since first earning a scholarship in the WAIS program back in 2017 under men’s coach Chris O’Reilly.


His elevation – along with those added with him – followed impressive performances over the course of the Australian Hockey League and within a National Junior Camp held earlier in the year.



The National Development Squad underpins the men’s senior program, which boasts existing top level WA talent such co-captain Aran Zalewski, Trent Mitton, Tyler Lovell, Jake Harvie and Tom Wickham.


The 2019 National Junior Squad is set to be announced following July’s Australian U21 Championships.


2019 Men’s National Development Squad
Athlete (Home State):
Kieron Arthur (TAS)
Kiran Arunasalam (VIC)
Hayden Beltz (TAS)
Scott Boyde (QLD)
James Day (ACT)
Hayden Dillon (NSW)
Nathan Ephraums (VIC)
Matthew Finn (QLD)
Liam Flynn (WA)
Frazer Gerrard (WA)

Max Hendry (VIC)
Kurt Lovett (NSW)
Hugh Pembroke (QLD)
Jayshaan Randhawa (VIC)
Joel Rintala (QLD)
Ash Thomas (NSW)
Blake Wotherspoon (QLD)