Western Australian Women's State Netball Team 1969-72

Netball | Inducted: 2018

Western Australian Women’s State Netball Team 1969-72


In 1969 WA won its first national netball championship in its own right.

Twice before WA had shared the title but the 1969 victory heralded a golden era in netball with four consecutive victories between 1969 and 1972.

The WA squad also dominated selection in the national teams of that time and contributed strongly to the win by Australia in the 1970/71 world championship in Jamaica.

Five members of that team in; Gaye Teede, Annette Simper, Cheryl Sidebottom, Ricky Pyatt and Elsma Merillo were from WA.

In the four year period from 1969 to 1972 Western Australia was undefeated, with the main opposition coming from Victoria and South Australia.

However, almost all the wins were by convincing margins and emphasised the greatness of the squads.